Skip to main content

Curriculum & Instruction

The Curriculum & Instruction department supports AUSD schools in providing a high-quality educational program for all students. The department's work is grounded in the district's Mission, Vision, and Guiding Principles. In collaboration with other district departments, Curriculum & Instruction provides a wide range of professional development to site staff, facilitates site improvement planning, coordinates state/federal and local assessments, facilitates the selection and distribution of instructional materials, and coordinates the implementation of the wide range of districtwide programs and initiatives.  

 

As California transitions to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), and new English Language Development (ELD) standards, the department is working to transition district instructional materials, provide staff regular professional development, and support schools in the shift to new assessment systems. In addition, Curriculum & Instruction plays a primary role in the annual development and review of the district's Local Control and Accountability Plan (LCAP), the district improvement plan that has been implemented along with the state's new funding process, the Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF).

 

The Curriculum & Instruction department works collaboratively with other district departments including Special Education, Student Services, Technology Services, Human Resources, Food Services, and Business Services to coordinate support for AUSD schools. The staff of Curriculum & Instruction are proud to be a part of this exciting time in public education and look forward to continuing the work of leading the AUSD community in supporting excellent and equitable educational outcomes for all students.

 

For questions regarding Curriculum & Instruction, please feel free to contact our office by phone (510) 337-7076, via email or in person at our district office located at the Niel Tam Education Center, 2060 Challenger Drive, Alameda, CA 94501.

Notice of public hearing

Contacts

Dr. Vernon Walton, Jr., EdD.
Director of Secondary Education

(510) 337-7906
vwalton@alamedaunified.org

 

Yvonne Wright

Director of Elementary Education

(510) 337-7064

ywright@alamedaunified.org

 

Aaliyah Khan
Staff Secretary
(510) 337-7076 

akhan@alamedaunified.org


Lindsey Jenkins-Stark, MPP

Sr. Manager of Data, Assessment & Research

(510) 337-7042

ljstark@alamedaunified.org

 

Nancy Lai

Language & Literacy Coordinator
(510) 337-7154  

nlai@alamedaunified.org 

 

Felicia Vargas

CTE Pathway Specialist

(510) 337-7091

fvargas@alamedaunified.org 

 

Claudia Medina
Coordinator of Family Involvement and Community Engagement (FICE)
(510) 337-7190

cmedina@alamedaunified.org

 

Janice Carroll
TSA, Instructional Technology
(510) 337-7000 ext. 7927

jcarroll@alamedaunified.org

 

Jasmina Huskic

Database Specialist

(510) 337-7077

jhuskic@alamedaunified.org   

 

Carolyn Villa
Staff Secretary, Achievement & Assessment
510-337-7113
cvilla@alamedaunified.org

 

Laura Lino
Testing Specialist, ELD
(510) 337-7157
llino@alamedaunified.org